Skip to content

Every Apple Product I have Owned, Part 2 – Intel

October 10, 2011

Steve Jobs took the stage at MacWorld in 2003 and promised that there would be 3 Ghz G5s in one year. When IBM couldn’t deliver the goods it was no surprise Apple made the switch to Intel processors. The switch to Intel proved to be one of the best things Apple could do to make sure that they had continually updated processors and a high yield for their growing demand. 

In Part 2 of Every Apple Product I have Owned I show you the Intel based Macintosh computers I have owned. 

Intel Core Duo iMac 20″

The first Intel based iMac was pretty cool. I followed really closely the developers that were trying to get Windows running on it in Dual-boot before Apple released the official tool, Boot Camp. 

This Intel based machine was dual core which means it had two processor cores on a single chip as apposed to two separate chips like the dual processor G5. It ran at 2Ghz with 512 Mb of RAM and a 250 GB hard drive. 

I first started using HandBreak with this computer to start ripping movies without re-burning them. 

 

 

MacBook Pro, Santa Rosa 15″

I started my own computer repair company and needed another laptop to take to customers houses. I opted for the MacBook Pro because of the Express Card slot that allowed me to use a Sprint wireless card for wireless internet access. 

This MacBook Pro had a 2.2 Ghz processor, 2 Gb of RAM and a 120 GB hard drive. 

One of my favorit things about this guy was the back lit keyboard. 

 

 

 

Core 2 Duo iMac 20″

I always get tired of smaller screens and long for a beautiful Apple Display so I usually get an iMac. This guy was 2.4 Ghz with 1Gb of RAM and a 250Gb hard drive. 

I used this iMac for creating product videos for my employer using iMovie.

 

 

 

MacBook Pro Penryn 15″

I actually still use this MBP to this day. It came with a 2.8 Ghz processor, 4 Gb of RAM and a 500 GB HD. It now has 8 GB of RAM and an OWC 115GB SSD. 

I have used this machine to complete multiple Microsoft Certifications using up to 4 virtual machines at a time. 

After I bought this machine I looked for a new digital camera that used SD cards specifically so I could just pop it into the side of my new MBP. 

 

 

 

 

Every Apple Product I have Owned, Part 1 – 68k to Power PC 

Every Apple Product I have Owned, Part 3 – iDevices 

From → Editorial

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

