Skip to content

CoRD Application for Mac is Much Better than MS Remote Desktop Connection

August 29, 2011

After the multiple issues I was having with Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection for Mac, I have stumbled upon CoRD for mac. CoRD is a remote desktop utility to connect to Windows machines from your Mac.

I work with multiple remote machines everyday and the problems with MS Remote Desktop Connection were getting to me. With many searches I came upon CoRD which is an open-source alternative with a better UI that has far fewer issues. As an added bonus, CoRD is also a 64-bit application.

MS RDC has been crashing on my constantly since I installed OS X 10.7 Lion. Connections would fail to connect, I would lose connections randomly and sometimes I would just be met with a blank screen. I thought that the issue must have been with Lion but I continued to have the same problems with 10.6 Snow Leopard. 

CoRD allows you to have an all-in-one integrated windows with all your saved RDC connections. To add a new connection, just click the + button and the inspector pops up asking for the connection details. Enter the computer name, IP address and logon credentials. You can also set screen size, how many colors and other options. 

With all your RDC connections in the left side drawer, you can quickly switch between active connections and open new ones. You can also open a new connection without saving it by entering the IP address or computer name in the Quick Connect box on top. 

To Download CoRD, check out http://cord.sourceforge.net/ .

One drawback is that CoRD does not currently support Network Level Authentication. This may be a problem in corporate environments where security policies have higher demands. The developers hope to support this in future releases. 

From → Tutorial

One Comment
  1. Matt permalink

    NLA is the only reason I still have the MS RDP client installed.

Leave a Reply

